spider-man:homecoming review

(This could be spoiler-ry so beware)

As someone fairly new to the wonders of the MCU, Spider-Man: Homecoming was only the second Marvel film I’d seen on the big screen (the first being Guardians of the Galaxy 2), and I’ve become so enthralled, impressed and obsessed with the universe.

I was super excited to see this movie, as Spider-Man is my favourite superhero and from the trailers, we knew nothing but greatness was going to come from the latest reboot of the cult classic. Obviously, this film had a lot to live up too, but I’m pretty sure no one was worried about that.

Spider-Man: Homecoming picks up straight after Captain America: Civil War, where Peter Parker (Tom Holland) has returned to his ‘normal’ life as a high-schooler, annoyed he’s not trusted to be an avenger. With Tony Stark (Robert Downey Jr) continuing to mentor him throughout the movie, and keep him grounded, Parker just isn’t having it, finding trouble for himself in places he thought he was helping.

I loved the casting of this movie, I felt all the characters worked so well together and made great additions to the movie. Ned (Jacob Batalon) makes the perfect sidekick and ‘guy in the chair’ to Peter Parker, adding such a great humour and warmth to the movie, and creating a great best friend for the superhero, who didn’t turn on him during the movie. And, obviously Michelle/MJ (Zendaya) was fantastic, adding a great dry humour to the movie, and playing a homage to Mary Jane, without having her connect to the characters story. This reboot felt like a great mix of the classic action movie we’d expect mixed with a comedy, teen cult movie, and I think the balance was really great.

I thought the movie had some real interesting changes, like Flash (Tony Revolori), being a nerdy-harmless ‘bully’, the romance between Parker and Liz (Laura Harrier) not being as strong as in previous versions, and adding more humor to it, so it really fit in with the rest of the MCU. There were such great friendships, heart and emotions in this movie and it felt like such a refreshing retelling of the story.

Personally, I think Tom Holland is the perfect Spider-Man, he’s actually young, and feels more fitting to the character in my opinion, and add’s a more believable ‘relatable, young, nerdy kid’ feel into the mix. I think he has adds so much heart and devotion to the character and is the best version of the character we’ve seen.

I really enjoyed this version of Parker’s story, we didn’t have to go through the re-telling of Uncle Ben’s death, or seeing him get bit by the spider and sewing his own suit etc etc – we’d seen that all before and it was refreshing to just jump straight into it. I think Spider-Man’s appearance in Civil War also added such a great element, setting us right up for the movie so no real introductions were needed.

The action in this movie was also awesome, from the epic scenes on the ferry to the ones on the plane, and between Spider-Man and Vulture (Michael Keaton), and the twist we get discovering who he is – you just can’t take your eyes off the screen. And can we talk about that post-credits scene? ffs.

This was definitely my favourite Spider-Man film so far, and this review has probably been completely biased because I love Marvel and all the cast that came together to make this movie, but I don’t care, I thought it was awesome and I just want to watch it again 12 more times.

I will say one critic tho, which is really just my own fault, and the trailers, is from the trailers I had held massivly high expectations for the movie which I’m not sure where seen out; the trailers were full of a lot of the plot, which is my own fault for watching so much, but I get too excited, so probably best to lay off them so some of the scenes feel more authentic and dramatic when watching.

Rating: ★★★★★

I am soooo beyond excited to Infinity War and Avengers 4, and can’t wait to see how Spider-Man fits into the Avengers – need to see that trailer already!

Leave a Reply

